The Five Pillars Of Islam: Basic Islamic Beliefs And Practices

The Five Pillars Of Islam: Basic Islamic Beliefs And Practices
9 Min Read

All the five pillars of Islam are crucial in the life of every Muslim. They assist an individual to follow the path of Allah and lead a contented life. Therefor

The term ‘five pillars’ refers to the basic tenets of faith in Islam. If followers want to establish a strong relationship with Allah, they must follow these five pillars in life with utmost dedication and submission. The pillars teach that the Almighty Allah comes first in every aspect of life. The religious practices based on tenets strengthen the core and keep the people unified.

The five pillars are the foundation of healthy, mentally sound, and dedicated Muslims. All the pillars are of equal importance, and there is no specific order in which these are to be fulfilled. It is obligatory for all the followers of Islam to endorse the pillars irrespective of ethnic, regional, or sectarian differences. Each pillar has its own rules, guidelines, and specific benefits.

What are the five pillars of faith?

To make the kids familiar with the religion of Islam and its practices, the starting point is to explain what the five pillars of Islam are. These are Salat, Shahada, Swam, Hajj, and Zakat.

1) Shahada: The profession of faith

All Muslims must believe that there is only one God, i.e., Allah, and Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) was his messenger. Every follower of Islam should recite the phrases present in the holy book of Quran as it helps to communicate with Allah. It gives direction to one's life and reminds people of the reason for the life bestowed by the Almighty. It helps an individual to become modest, humble, and gain self-confidence. Shahada makes one surrender entirely to Allah and feel liberated.

Key Facts about Shahada:

• One can become Muslim by believing in Shahada and simply saying it

• Shahada is said into the ear of a newborn baby

• It is the part of the Adhaan which is the call to prayer and the five daily prayers

2) Salah: Daily prayers

All Muslims are required to pray five times a day. Muslims can pray from anywhere but should be facing towards the holy city of Makkah. This also doesn't mean that they should not be attending mosque prayers. Prayer brings discipline, positivity, contentment, and peace to an individual’s life. It gives an opportunity to come closer to Allah, seeking his blessings and asking forgiveness for one’s sins. It unifies all Muslims by bringing in brotherhood and equality.

Key Facts about Salah:

• Fajr, Zuhr, Asr, Maghrib, and Isha are the five essential prayers

• The prayers are recited at different times of the day, depending on the position of the sun

• Each prayer has a different length and duration

• An additional prayer Taraweeh is recited by Muslims during the month of Ramadan

• Hygiene is the key before praying

3) Zakah: Giving alms

Charity or almsgiving is obligatory on all those Muslims who can afford to do it. The pillar of Zakah is not mentioned in the holy Quran. However, it can be found in Hadiths. It helps to maintain balance in society. It brings in the sense of selflessness, equality, and sharing. Also, it assists an individual in thanking Allah for his gifts.

Key Facts about Zakat:

• The only Muslims who meet and exceed the nisab are eligible to pay Zakat

• To pay Zakat, the wealth should be sustained for the whole Islamic year

• The intention while giving Zakat should be clear and focus on Zakat only

• If you exceed the Nisaab, the Zakat must be done only once in the year

• Zakat can be donated at any time of the year

• It is not permissible to give Zakat to anyone other than mentioned below:

 Fakir – those living in poverty

 Miskin – a person without food and is hungry

 Amil – person able to distribute Zakat, such as charities

 Riqab – those living in imprisonment or captivity

 Gharmin – a person who is under debt

 Fisabilillah – a person who acts in the name of Allah

 Ibnus Sabil – someone who is stranded and devoid of resources while travelling

 Muallaf – a person new to the religion of Islam

4) Swam: Fasting

In the holy month of Ramadan, all Muslims are required to forgo drinks and food during the daylight hours. Fasting helps the followers of Islam renew their faith in Allah and express their gratitude towards everything Allah has bestowed upon them. The act of fasting also develops a sense of forgiveness, patience, and willpower. It also reminds one about their responsibility towards the people who are less fortunate and need food.

Key Facts about Swam:

• Children, elderly, and ill people are not advised to fast

• It is not obligatory for pregnant or breastfeeding women to fast

• On the completion of fasting during the month of Ramadan, Muslims celebrate Eid-ul-Fitr

5) Pilgrimage: Hajj

Any Muslim who has a good financial status and health is required to pay a visit to the holy city of Makkah. Pilgrims circle around the holy kaaba present in the center of the al-Haram Mosque in the city of Makkah. The Pilgrimage is to be carried out on the eighth and twelfth day of the month of Dhu al-Hijjah, which is the last month of the Islamic calendar. It is believed that Hajj in Islam wipes away past sins of an individual as Alimghty Allah forgives the sinner who performs Hajj. It also restores the faith of Muslims in allah and Islam. It provides an opportunity to attain spiritual rebirth and establish a close relationship with the Almighty Allah.

Key Facts about Hajj:

• It takes 5 to 6 days to complete the pilgrimage

• Men and women must wear Ihram during the entire period of Hajj

• It is in the twelfth and final month, i.e., Dhul Hijjah of the Islamic calendar in which Hajj takes place

All the five pillars of Islam are crucial in the life of every Muslim. They assist an individual to follow the path of Allah and lead a contented life. Therefore, people should abide by these five pillars and never refrain from them. Read more blog at zamzam